I Didn’t Throw It Away

I’m a hoarder. I can’t bear to part with many things. “Goodbye” is the hardest word to say in my opinion…even if it’s just to inanimate objects. Let me tell you about the things that I’ve kept for 20 years or more.

image

Anyone remembers owning one of these? I’ve had this recorder since i was in primary 3 (or was it primary 4? My memory’s a bit fuzzy). I’ve always loved music and wanted to learn to play a musical instrument (I’ve since learnt to play the ukulele). Now that I think about it, I wonder why I didn’t just join the school band to learn. Instead I was in the Art & Craft Club and the Choir.q I kept this coz this is the first instrument I own. I still take it out once in a while and play the tune of Do-Re-Mi (one of the few tunes I remember clearly the notes to)… not that I’m fantastic at it. ^^;

image

Here’s my first autograph book with words of wisdom written in it from my primary 6 friends (I still have my secondary and JC autograph books as well). I found these cards in this book. I remember typing out the words on my typewriter and drawing the decorations. I gave them away to my friends. I can’t remember what the Sailor Moon card used to hold (a hairband maybe?) but it shows how much I love Japanese manga/anime characters even back then. My autograph books hold memories of the friends I made all those years in school. A few years back, we had a gathering. I brought along this autograph book and everyone had a good time reminiscing about those carefree years.

image

I also have these McDonald’s containers. If I remember correctly, they used to have ice creams in them. I don’t know why I don’t have my favourite character: Grimace. There’s no particular reason why I still keep these. Guess they are just cute containers that I can’t bear to part with.

There are many other things that I have kept for 20 years (and counting). But I shan’t show all of them (otherwise this blog post will take you ages to finish reading) to you. The photo below shows the ones that I found while having one of those spring cleaning sprees (Yes…I tend to keep things, store them away, forget I have them, then discover them again when I spring clean).

image

Clockwise from top right corner: My primary school song book filled with children’s songs and Singapore national day songs. Two coin boxes. Look at the classic look on the Koko Krunch koala. And I haven’t seen Apple Puffs in ages! Inside those coin boxes are lots of 1-cent coins, a couple of Funworld tokens (I love going to the arcade!), a decapitated LEGO man and his accessories. The sticker albums are a reminder of the hobby i had when I was much younger. Not all of them are complete though. I especially love the poster that came with the Mask sticker album and the fashion closet in the Barbie sticker album (not shown).

Just one last item that is really dear to me coz it was lovingly made by my mom.

image

A crochet vest in my favourite colour! I love wearing a vest when i was younger. Mom made me lots of things but this is one of the few that I still keep. Maybe because it is blue. Whatever the reason, now you know where I get my love for crafting and crochet from…my mom. 😉

image

This post is part of a blog train hosted by Agatha from Green Issues by Agy on “I didn’t Throw It Away”. We have become such a throw-away society, but there are some things in our households that we still keep. Why is that so? Perhaps this blog train can unlock the reasons behind it! Follow the daily posts on this blog train and read about the stories behind the things we have kept for many years and why we didn’t throw them away.

Tomorrow, Audrey from Angelhearts Crafts will blog about the things too precious to her to be eaten by the rubbish bin.

3 thoughts on “I Didn’t Throw It Away

Leave a Reply

